Blogia
Just Call Me Angel

NOT THAT "TOGETHER": Bob Dylan uneven on new album

You might have missed some content in your review:

IT’S ALL GOOD

Talk about me babe, if you must
Throw on the dirt, pile on the dust
I’d do the same thing if I could
You know what they say
They say it’s all good
All good, it’s all good

"Talk about me babe, if you must" talk spread rumors; gossip:

’If you do that, people will talk’ this refers to the Singout

Magazine article by CPUSA member Irwin Silber accusing Bob Dylan

of selling out "Throw" put me suddenly or forcefully into a

given condition, position "on the dirt" in my grave "pile on the

dust" slang, ’Pile the shit on thick’ invent a pile of shit

about me! Restless Farewell "If the arrow is straight and the

point is slick it can piece through dust no matter how thick"

"I’d do the same thing if I could" if I were in your position I

would have done the same to you as I never believed a word you

said you goddamn commie! "You know what they say / They say it’s

all good" sarcastic: Communism sucks.

Big politicians telling lies
Restaurant kitchen, all full of flies
Don’t make a bit of difference
Don’t see why it should
But it’s all right
cos’ it’s all good, it’s all good, it’s all good

"Big politicians" communist politicians with grandiose ideas

"telling lies" lying to the public about the true nature of

Communism "Restaurant kitchens" commercial recording studios,

kitchen, as place where something is prepared "all full of

flies" full of Communist performers "Don’t make a bit of

difference" sarcastic, Dylan would not be bringing this up if he

was indifferent to it "Don’t see why it should" more sarcasm

"But it’s all right cos’ it’s all good."

"Kitchen" as recording studio; Liner Notes to the Freewheeling

Bob Dylan "After that I thumbed my way to Galveston, in four

days tryin’ to find an ol’ friend whose ma met me at the screen

door and said he’s in the Army. By the time the kitchen door

closed I was passin’ California" In Chronicles Dylan wrote that

he hitchhiked to Texas to hook up with a friend who had a band

but was rejected, screened out, and never made it to the

recording studio.

"Flies" as Communist performers, Some Other Kinds of Songs;

"johnny (little johnny)" Senator Joseph McCarthy "with his

father’s hammer" with Congressional legislation "nailed five

flies t’ the kitchen window�" caught five communist party

members who had recording contracts� "named all the girls" named

other Communists "that did it" who were in the Party "he did /

an’ never knew a / one that didn’t."

"Hammer" as legislation; Eleven Outlined Epitaphs "where state

lines" the borders of the Soviet State "don’t stand" are not

respected "an’ knowledge don’t count" and leftwing propaganda is

dismissed "when feelings are hurt" when people are oppressed

"an’ I am on the side a them hurt feelings / plunged on" cast

suddenly, violently, or deeply into a given state or situation

"by unsensitive hammers" by foreign (unsensitive) heartless

legislation "an’ made t’ bleed by rusty nails" and made to

suffer by antiquated laws. Hard Rain, "I saw a black branch with

blood that kept drippin’" I saw a black branch of humanity

suffering "I saw a room full of men with their hammers a-

bleedin’" I saw a Congress with legislation that was trimmed

off, "bleed" the part of the page that is trimmed off.

Wives are leaving their husbands, they’re beginning to roam
They leave the party, and they never get home
I wouldn’t change it, even if I could
You know what they say man
It’s all good, it’s all good, all good

"Wives are leaving their husbands" Communist Party members are

no longer wed to the strict party line "they’re beginning to

roam" they are becoming deviationists; Marxist term for someone

who does not follow the Party line "roam" as in drift, a gradual

deviation from an original course, model, method, or intention

"They leave the party" they quit the Communist Party "and they

never go home" and they never fully realize what sort of regime

they supported "home" a place of origin or headquarters: the

Kremlin, the Soviet Union "I wouldn’t change it, even if I

could" I would have liked to have forced them to have witnessed

the totalitarian society that they supported but "You know what

they say man / It’s all good, it’s all good, all good"

Brick by brick they tear you down
A teacup of water is enough to drown
You oughta know if they could they would
Whatever going down
It’s all good
All good, it’s all good

"Brick by brick" one by one the reliable sources "the good old

bricks" that you depend on for the information that you based

your worldview on "they tear you down" are denigrated, replaced

my Marxist thinkers "A teacup of water" the smallest amount of

sorrow for others "is enough to drown" is enough to make you

want to drown in sorrow and join the Left instead of thinking

about yourself "You oughta know if they could they would" but if

they had any individual value they would not have to hide behind

collectivism, they are doing so because they are inferior!

"Whatever going down" even if it’s a world class fraud being

perpetrated on Americans "It’s all good All good, it’s all good

People in the country, people on the land
Some of ’em so sick, they can hardly stand
Everybody would move away, if they could
It’s hard to believe, but it’s all good

"People in the country" dissidents deported to gulags "people on

the land" people in the motherland of the Soviet Union "Some of

’em so sick, they can hardly stand" some of the worked to death

by their Communist slave masters in Siberia that they are almost

dead "Everybody would move away, if they could" everyone would

leave that worker’s paradise, that shithole called the USSR if

they could get an exit visa, which they cannot "It’s hard to

believe" it is hard to believe that a country can keep so many

people virtual prisoners, "but it’s all good
Yeaaaa!" but that’s cool, hey it must be fun to be in a Soviet

political prison or mental hospital to which dissidents, many

who were Jewish, were committed.

The widows cry, the orphans bleed
Everywhere you look there’s more misery
Come away with me babe, I wish you would
You know what I’m saying
It’s all good, all good

"The widows cry" those whose loved ones have been killed by the

Communists; Liner Notes to John Wesley Harding wherein Dylan

describes the CPUSA, "They scorn the widow and abuse the child

but I am afraid that they shall not prevail over the young man’s

destiny, not even them!" "the orphans bleed" the anti-Castro

exile fighters incur casualties, Baby Blue "Yonder stands your

orphan with his gun / Crying like a fire in the sun" "Everywhere

you look there’s more misery" all the Communists do is increase

the amount of misery in the world, not ameliorate it or

eradicate it "Come away with me babe, I wish you would" move in

my direction, move to the right "You know what I’m saying" you

must know this from what I have just said, "It’s all good, all

good, I said it’s all good, all good" Communism stinks and gee

wilikers, not only is it 90 miles from Key West, it has struck

my home!

There’s a cold blooded killer stalking the town
Cop cars blinkin’, something bad going down
Buildings are crumbling in the neighborhood
but it’s nothing to worry about, cause it’s all good
It’s all good

"There’s a cold blooded killer" killer slang: having an

impressive or effective power or impact; a formidable enemy, a

Maoist "stalking" following or observing a person persistently,

especially out of obsession or derangement "the town" New York

City as in New York Town "Cop cars blinkin’, police are wavering

or backing down, as in a contest of wills "something bad going

down" Dylan’s 30th Birthday Party Sunday May 24, 1972 "Buildings

are crumbling in the neighborhood" Dylan townhouse is falling

into decay or ruin, and he has to move; Idiot Wind "The priest

wore black on the seventh Day and sat stone faced while the

building burned" I "burned down his crib" drug slang; made it

useless by bringing the heat or the rips around "but it’s

nothing to worry about, cause it’s all good!

I’m gonna pluck off your beard and blow it in your face
This time tomorrow I’ll be roaming in your place
I wouldn’t change a thing, even if I could
You know what they say
They say it’s all good, it’s all good
O yeah

"I’m gonna pluck off your beard" after he beat me up, as a coup

de gras, Dylan plucked off my FREE BOB DYLAN button from my work

shirt and threw it to the ground. I had been court marshaled,

demoted in rank, and my medals were stripped from my uniform, I

was disgraced "beard" something that serves to divert suspicion

or attention from another thing such as the fact that I was not

as militant as I pretended to be "blow it in your face" throw it

in your face in numerous poems, Idiot Wind "I waited for you on

the running board" Journey Through Dark Heat "the laughter down

on Elizabeth Street" "This time tomorrow" When the Night Comes

Falling From the Sky, "This time tomorrow I’ll know you better /

When my memory is not so short" "I’ll be roaming" wandering

about in search of something; Idiot Wind "in your place" a

business establishment or office, in this case a safe house from

which pot was sold. As stated Lord Oliver Foot was a mutual

friend who often visited the office "I wouldn’t change a thing,

even if I could" I wouldn’t get you busted, even though I could

have "You know what they say / They say it’s all good, it’s all

good / O yeah"

0 comentarios